About the
News & EventsAlumni
& Giving
Make a Gift

News Release (Back to Menu)

U.S. District Court Judge Freda Wolfson, Class of 1979, to Deliver Convocation Address

May 19, 2009 – 
The Honorable Freda L. Wolfson, U.S. District Judge of the District of New Jersey, will deliver the convocation address at the Friday, May 22, commencement for Rutgers School of Law–Newark at which the Juris Doctor degree will be conferred on 248 graduates. The ceremony will begin at 10 am at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center (NJPAC) following a bagpiper-led procession of commencement participants from the law school building at 123 Washington Street, Newark.

Judge Freda Wolfson 

 Judge Freda Wolfson

Judge Wolfson has been a U.S. district judge of the district of New Jersey since 2002. Prior to that, she served for 16 years as a U.S. magistrate judge in Trenton. She is the author of numerous opinions and articles on a wide array of subjects. 

Judge Wolfson began her legal career as a litigator, handling commercial and employment litigation and casino licensing applications at Lowenstein Sandler for two years and Clapp & Eisenberg for five years. She has been honored as an American Bar Foundation Fellow and has received a New Jersey State Bar Association Young Lawyer Division’s Professional Achievement Award. She received an Outstanding Alumnus Award from the Alumni Association of Rutgers School of Law—Newark in 2002 and the 2008 Women’s Initiative & Leaders in Law Platinum Award from New Jersey Women Lawyers Association.

Judge Wolfson was an Eagleton Institute of Politics Undergraduate Fellow and a member of Phi Beta Kappa at Rutgers University, Douglass College. She graduated in 1976 magna cum laude. In 1979, she graduated cum laude from Rutgers School of Law–Newark, where she worked both as a teaching assistant and research assistant while serving as an editor of the Rutgers Law Review.

Other speakers at the ceremony will include Board of Governors Professor of Law and Judge Alexander P. Waugh, Sr. Distinguished Scholar George C. Thomas III as the faculty speaker; and Kelly Anne Targett, Class of 2009, as the student speaker.